• Welcome, Guest. Please login.

March 29, 2024, 09:14:45 am

News:

Come to our store on 1½ Whip-Ma-Whop-Ma-Gate, York and play more games....

Magnetizing Bases/Movement Trays

Started by Berimbolo, November 10, 2014, 12:24:31 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

Berimbolo

Hey folks,

Need some help, I'm finally getting my High Elves painted and need to know some things. I know that you sell it all on here and will be ordering soon enough, just a quick question:

Is the Flex O Magnetic Sheet the one that is applied to the movement tray so that the models magnetize to the tray?

Or do I need to get some thin sheet metal to apply to the tray and then the Magnetic Sheet is the one that's applied to the base of the movement tray so that it magnetizes to the Box its in?

I've never done it before so not 100% sure.

Apologies if this is in the wrong place.

Thanks

underscore

I got the metal sheets and the rare earth magnets: stuck the sheet to the tray and superglued the magnet to a space under the base.

That won't work if you don't have space under the base (say you're using those wooden ones, for example) you may want to use magnetic sheets instead. But it's the GW hollow-plastic ones then the magnets fitted just fine (though cavalry bases can be annoying)... just don't use the GW weak superglue.

Berimbolo

Not totally sure what you mean with Wooden bases?

I'm going to using Rare Earth for the models (GW Bases), I was unsure of the sheet when applied to the movement tray (both on top and on the bottom of the tray) that it works with both the model with the Magnet and the box it will go in with another magnetic tray.

I am intending to get some MDF made trays from Ebay though?

Thanks.

Pip

Hey Jack,